2020 Must Reads By Black Women








It’s the beginning of the 2020, you are in the midst of compiling your must-reads for the year, and I’m here to help! Here is a selection of books written by Black women expected to be released in 2020, that would make for perfect inclusions on your reading lists. They cover an array of genres and are written by authors from varying backgrounds to give you a well-rounded reading experience this year.



When You Were Everything by Ashley Woodfolk

"For fans of Nina LaCour's We Are Okay and Adam Silvera's History Is All You Left Me, this heartfelt and ultimately uplifting novel follows one sixteen-year-old girl's friend breakup through two concurrent timelines--ultimately proving that even endings can lead to new beginnings."











The Vanishing Shelf by Brit Bennett

"From The New York Times-bestselling author of The Mothers, a stunning new novel about twin sisters, inseparable as children, who ultimately choose to live in two very different worlds, one black and one white."














Love in Colour by Bolu Babalola

"Love stories inspired by tales of the past...Join debut author Bolu Babalola as she recreates the most beautiful love stories from history and mythology and retells them with new incredible detail and vivacity. From the homoromantic Greek myths, to magical Nigerian folktales, to the ancient stories of South Asia, Babalola is inspired by tales that truly show the variety and colours of love around the world."










we are all birds of Uganda by Hafsa Zayyan "Two lives, generations apart, set to collide with life-changing consequences...Moving between two continents over a troubled century, We Are All Birds of Uganda is a multi-layered, moving and immensely resonant novel of generational love, loss and what it means to find home. It is the first work of fiction by Hafsa Zayyan, co-winner of the inaugural #Merky Books New Writers' Prize, and the most exciting young novelist of today."








Transcedent Kingdom by Yaa Gyasi "Yaa Gyasi's stunning follow-up to her acclaimed national best seller Homegoing is a powerful, raw, intimate, deeply layered novel about a Ghanaian family in Alabama."


  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White YouTube Icon

© 2020 by Filmore